Japan WifiBuddy Pocket Wifi Reviews

Read what our customers have to say about our service!

Country
WifiBuddy

Silver WifiBuddy

Pickup/dropoff was easy at the
Pickup/dropoff was easy at the airport. Wifi worked like a charm.
JARRO P.
Almere Stad, Provincie Flevoland
26 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Amazing service and very clear
Amazing service and very clear instructions! Definitely will get again.
CHRISTY T.
Frisco, Texas
26 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Same great service!
Second time using the Japan WiFi Buddy and still enjoy the easy pickup/return, wide coverage, high speeds, and reasonable cost.
DARRENLOKHUNG T.
Castro Valley, California
26 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

It made my trip comfortable.
It made my trip comfortable.
KENJI N.
Boston, Massachusetts
25 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Super helpful and reliable. The
Super helpful and reliable. The charging port was on the bottom and I would prefer the side.
CHRISTOPHER M.
Brooklyn, New York
25 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

A lifesaver while in Japan!
We traveled through Japan successfully BECAUSE of the Japan WifiBuddy. We only used Google Maps to get around, so it was important to have an internet connection at all times. The wifi was fast -- considering we shared it between two cellphones and we had several apps open at once. My bf was always on PokemonGo while on the trip and he never had an issue. I would also go on Instagram/E-mail every now and then when I had a moment and the internet was still super fast. We utilized Google to search all the time and find places to eat or things to do. We also needed Google Translate frequently. We had a great internet connection for about 97% of the time. The 3% of the time it didn't work was in the Bamboo Garden in Kyoto, some other small streets in Kyoto, and randomly, at the vicinity of (not a main) train station in Tokyo. This was after we had already restarted the device. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Japan Wifibuddy during your trip to Japan -- it will make your trip.
CAMILA M.
Providence, Rhode Island
25 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Excellent device and service
The diamond WiFi buddy was really the cornerstone for us throughout the trip. We used googlemaps for transportation and played video games on the bullet train, without this device it would not be possible. No problems whatsoever, great internet speed everywhere, and highly recommend renting this device for any trips in Japan.
FRANCIS S.
Los Angeles, California
25 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Absolutely Perfect
The Diamond WifiBuddy that we used on our Japan trip worked flawlessly. I think the only time that we were unable to get a decent connection was in an underground nightclub. In our travels through Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, Hakone, and the islands along the Shimanami Kaido, we had wonderful speeds and connectivity. When I visit Japan in the future, I will rent through your company without hesitation.
ALEXANDER L.
Woodinville, Washington
25 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great! No problems at all!
Picked up from the airport, no trouble at all. Wifi was fast, never throttled. Never had any issues with coverage. Sometimes it'd shut off randomly and the battery would only last us half a a day, but having the extra power packs fixes that. I don't know how anyone travels without it!! Highly recommended!
AMANDA L.
Mount Pearl, Newfoundland and Labrador
24 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Indispensable!
We had a WiFi Buddy delivered to our hotel at the start of the trip for our two week Japan holiday. As there were three of us, it made more sense than three separate SIM cards and as it transpired, the signal was strong enough to be shared between adjacent hotel rooms. Small enough to fit in a pocket, even in it’s pouch it slips into a backpack. It was reassuring that it comes with all cables, a backup battery and return envelope making it foolproof. What’s more, I checked many providers and found the price charged by Japan WiFi Buddy extremely competitive. At the end of our holiday we sealed it all up in the envelope provided and dropped it off at hotel reception - couldn’t be easier!
JASON H.
Greensborough, Victoria
24 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Very Pleased
Wi-Fi buddy was waiting at my hotel when I arrived. Good start. Simple to set up. Plenty of data (100gb). Good connection everywhere travelled in Japan. The battery pack was a great bonus when out for a long day. Simple to use. I would definitely recommend Japan Wi-Fi Buddy to anyone travelling to Japan. I would use again.
GRAHAM S.
London, England
24 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Excellent speed and coverage
Excellent speed and coverage
RYAN B.
Pakenham East, Victoria
24 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Perfect
Got a top one for 2 weeks, best thing in the world to visit japan and super easy to get and ship back! Don't go without one!
Bruno M.
New York, New York
24 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Wonderful product and service!
Arrived on time, easy to follow instructions, and product worked great all over Japan, from tokyo to the inland sea to the top of the alps!
GRANT F.
Alamo, California
24 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Fast
Faster data speed than I would have expected. It was much faster than all the five star hotels I stayed in.
SUZANNA L.
La Jolla, California
24 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Awesome device, awesome service
The diamond wifi is fast, small, and more than capable to handle wifi needs for a small group. The data allowance is really generous before any kind of throttling happens, it was fast from beginning to end. Highly recommend.
PETER-MICHAEL C.
Toronto, Ontario
24 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Fantastic device and service!
I have T-Mobile, so I got 2G data and texts; SO has Verizon, so none of that. This was a life saver on many occasions, mostly just for finding out where we were! Instructions were clear and helpful, extra battery is a nice bonus (we also brought our own for our devices), and while we didn't use the pouches provided regularly, also a nice bonus!
JOSHUA D.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
24 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Really great service, coverage, and speeds!
Was really pleased with the service and especially the download speeds. Needed wifi to be able to watch streaming video as required by my job out here in Japan, and the videos played in great quality without issue!
ERIC F.
Tokyo, Tokyo
23 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great Experience, very reliable.
Great Experience, very reliable.
PHILLIP L.
South San Francisco, California
22 April 2019
Silver WifiBuddy

So convenient
Best decision we made! Super convenient delivery/return and so helpful to have while exploring japan for our first time!
MESHA J.
Pleasanton, California
22 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Best pocket wifi!
Got the Diamond plan. Pocket wifi stayed on for the whole day before we needed to use the portable charger. Good connection especially when we went to crowded places such as Tokyo Disney and DisneySea. Will definitely use this again!
AARIZE D.
Berkeley, California
21 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Recent Trip to Japan
The Diamond WiFi Buddy worked great for daily use as a traveler in need of uninterrupted internet access. Whether it was for Train, Subway, Bus, or simply just searching Google I had a great experience with no issues. The only drawback was the battery life but nevertheless the backup battery charger provided came in handy. Japan Wifi Buddy, you guys are doing it right! Arigatōgozaimashita. -Anthony
ANTHONY B.
Pleasanton, California
21 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Good solution for on-the-go WiFi in Japan
Previously we have used temporary SIM cards when visiting Japan, but on a recent trip my wife and I tried the WiFi Buddy that was recommended by our daughter. It did the job well and provided good coverage - often better than the in-house hotel WiFi. It was also useful when using tablets as well as phones. The battery life of the device was good and the inconvenience of carrying around the backup charger and lead wasn't significant. If there was any downside, it was the fact that both us had to be in proximity of the Buddy to have internet connectivity. If either of us wanted to go exploring, one party could lose that connection. With individual SIM cards that wasn't an issue. Overall though, we were very happy with the product and would certainly consider it on future trips.
TREVOR B.
Gosnells, Western Australia
20 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

WiFi Buddy saves lives
Y’all, this is no lie. I would not have been able to get to all the places I experienced in Japan without the help of my partner and companion pocket WiFi here. Public WiFi in Japan is lackluster at best and I can’t tell you how great having a 100% solid connection at all times was. Well actually I can..it was incredible. Never a moment when I didn’t have full signal. Never a problem with directions, getting from Point A to Point B, translating online when I needed to, and steaming on my down time. Got the Diamond package. Worth every penny. Great value and you can easily just get one for a group of 4z. Life Saver
MARCELO C.
Los Angeles, California
20 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great service
The process of receiving and returning the wifi hotspot from Japan WifiBuddy was very easy. The wifi hotspot we received had excellent coverage but would usually die after 6 hours of use. It was easily revived with the included portable USB charger.
ERIC A.
Seattle, Washington
20 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Awesome!
This is our third time in Japan but our first time with JWB. Pick up and drop off process was smooth and informative. The pocket wifi was perfect for three people; it never slowed down (like we have experienced in the past with other companies) and we were able to do a variety of things without exceeding the limit. We’re extremely happy! We’ll definitely be using JWB with all our wifi rentals in the future. :)
PAULINA V.
Chicago, Illinois
19 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

My WiFiBuddy experience
My experience in japan using the wifibuddy was extraordinary. The WiFi box itself was easy to use and it came with a power bank which ended up being very useful. The WiFi was very high speed and we were able to quickly find routes on google maps and etc.
MYRIAM S.
Frankfurt, Hessen
19 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Worked like a charm!
The WiFi buddy was a huge help enduring that we didn’t incur tons of data roaming charges while in Japan. We would recommend it for anyone looking to spend more than a couple days in the country. Was very easy to pick up and drop off and the team was always available to answer any of our questions. Only thing we’d note is that we wished the battery would last longer, but fortunately they provided a backup charger that we were able to use.
GREGORY D.
Toronto, Ontario
19 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Review
It worked well everywhere I went and I didn’t have any issue. However, I wish the battery lasted a little longer.
JASON M.
Bristow, Virginia
19 April 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

The best!
If you’re going to japan and need WiFi this is the one to get period. That’s all this review needs to say.
JOSHUA A.
Norwalk, California
19 April 2019