Japan WifiBuddy Pocket Wifi Reviews

Read what our customers have to say about our service!

Country
WifiBuddy
Sim Cards

Platinum WifiBuddy

Great service
We rented the Platinum unit ahead of our trip to Japan and it was waiting for us at our hotel reception. It delivered everything it promised and we found the unit life backed up by the standing charger more than adequate for all of our needs across 2 devices. The charger was also useful for topping up our iPhones. Very satisfied and highly recommended.
COLLIN C.
Greenock, Scotland
12 November 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Good service
One of your travel necessities going to Japan is a pocket wifi. This is even more important if you’re hoping from one place to another, navigating around town, subway, and guidance overall in the country. Wifibuddy did niot dissapoint. There were 6 of us and internittently log in everyday and we travel between Tokyo to Hiroshima and we got wifi coverage. I highly recommend wifibuddy especially there Diamond service tier which satisfy our needs.
JOSE J.
Burnaby, British Columbia
11 November 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Fast Wifi and Convenient Service
This is my 2nd time using pocket wifi in Japan and 1st time using Japan Wifi Buddy. Retrieving the unit from the post office in Haneda was easy enough even though we were forced to get the extended hours pickup. Our flight landed at 2:45pm and we picked up the unit before 5pm so we paid the extended fee for nothing, but it was mandatory for us to get it. Anyway, wifi speeds on the Platinum unit were great, battery lasted all day and then some so we didn't even need to use the backup portable battery. Still had service while on the trains as well, so that was nice. Returning the unit was easy at the airport, just pop it into the return envelope and drop it in the post box. Overall I would use Japan Wifi Buddy again, but would love to not use the extended hours pickup and pay that fee if I don't have to next time.
HOLLY L.
Azusa, California
07 November 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Thanks
Great product
EDWARD P.
Munhall, Pennsylvania
07 November 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Excellent service!
Excellent service!
NICHOLAS F.
Austin, Texas
05 November 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Fantastic
Like everything else in Japan, seamless and efficient service. Great value for money. Personal online service. Would highly recommend .
MICHAEL F.
Gerrards Cross, England
04 November 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Essential!
Great little device that helped us stay connected throughout our vacation in Japan. I did notice that sometimes it would shut off even when charged, which was annoying while navigating since no WiFi means no data (even will full cellular service bars). Drop off was easy :)
ALISSA M.
Laguna Niguel, California
04 November 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Life Saver!
We got the Diamond package, with the piece of mind that we wouldn't run out of data. Our American mobile plan only gave us super slow 2G speeds that we couldn't do anything with. Thank goodness we had this hotspot! Google Maps was a necessity to get around, as well as Google Translate. The only thing I wish is that I would receive a confirmation that they received my returned equipment.
TIMOTHY D.
Los Angeles, California
04 November 2019
Platinum WifiBuddy

No complaints...only recommend
Second time renting..... not disappointed at the service provided. Worked totally everywhere for the three weeks (both times) we were in japan. Nakasendo trail, Kanazawa, Akita, Aomori, Hakodate and of course Tokyo. Appreciated the inclusion of extra power and cords.
RICHARD Y.
Mill Valley, California
03 November 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great product.
Got the WiFi buddy delivered to my hotel. It worked perfectly. Thanks for your great service
AIDAN O.
Dublin, Leinster
02 November 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great connection. Traveled with 5
Great connection. Traveled with 5 others and had no issues. WiFi buddy coupled with the backup battery will last you throughout the entire day
RAYMON C.
Richmond Hill, Ontario
01 November 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Saved our butts
Highly recommend using this product. Fast internet, stable connection, good battery and easy as pie to use. This product made our stay in Japan a breeze and it was much more affordable than any other option.
COHEN H.
Brisbane, Queensland
31 October 2019
Platinum WifiBuddy

Great WiFi connection at an affordable price
I got the 6 GB a day plan and that was more than enough data for my boyfriend and I in Japan. The connection was great, we had service everywhere (Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, and Miyajima) except the mountainous areas near Hakone. In most cases, the connection was better than hotel WiFi, so we actually stuck to the WiFi egg most of the time. I compared prices with a few competitors, and this was the best! Also, the delivery process was easy! The package was at my hotel, ready for me when I arrived and when I leaving Japan, the hotel reception was able to take care of sending it through the mail.
MONICA L.
New Westminster, British Columbia
30 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Luke Elliot - WifiBuddy worked great for our particular need
This was exactly what we needed. Two workers from Canada who really needed Internet access in our cabins in order to keep up with their work back in Canada while they served at the Aomori Christian Center. It worked great for them. They were a little concerned when a message came up on their screens saying something like "you have used 96mbs out of your 100mbs" but I understand that there is something in the instructions that actually addresses that issue and explains that the service is limitless in spite of that message.
Elliott L.
Misawa, Aomori
30 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great service
Worked flawlessly, really happy with it.
NICHOLAS R.
Ferntree Gully, Victoria
30 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Grateful for WifiBuddy!
Worked perfectly the entire time! Even worked in a Typhoon! Super thankful for the external charger - perfect for long days out!
Kate B.
Toronto, Ontario
29 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

The router worked perfectly. Pick
The router worked perfectly. Pick up and return was simple and easy.
GAVIN R.
Toronto, Ontario
29 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Best Hotspot Service
What I love about JWB is how everything is included in their rental and even returning the device is simple. This is the 2nd time I’ve rented from them and they have excellent customer service. You have the option to pick up your device at the airport or have it delivered to your hotel/bnb. I had it delivered to my hotel and the package was there even before I arrived and didn’t have to wait 6/5 stars.
JEAN R.
Tokyo, Tokyo
29 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Must have
We booked our Wifi Buddy for 3 weeks. It was waiting for us at the airport charged and ready to go. We used it non-stop our entire trip it was our lifeline (did not get a sim card) and we were completely satisfied. We had reception almost everywhere and the battery charger helped to make the Wifi last all day! 10/10 would recommend to anyone going to Japan!
RILEY I.
Victoria, British Columbia
29 October 2019
Platinum WifiBuddy

Very useful
Very useful
RYAN T.
Christchurch, Canterbury
27 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Amazing WiFi and service
WiFi buddy was an absolute crucial part of our 2 week stay in Japan. Pickup at the airport post office was painless. The internet was extremely reliable and fast, battery life was amazing, especially with the included backup battery. With the backup we could be out all day (12 hours) and not worry about losing connection. The included wall plug for charging with 2 USB ports also made it easy to keep everything charged, including our own electronics. Included return mailer seas this sea as the best in Japan.
AUSTIN D.
Chicago, Illinois
27 October 2019
Silver WifiBuddy

Portable buddy in Japan!!
Have been using Japan WiFi buddy for the past few years!! Love it!! Just this year didn’t have much signal in certain areas. Like how package is already waiting at the hotel and easy send back!! Have already recommended friends that are using it!!!
CHRISTINA C.
Oceanside, California
26 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Amazing
The WifiBuddy was fast and reliable for me and my wife during our trip. We traveled between Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, and Nara and the whole trip the WifiBuddy performed even better than expected. Would always recommend them, and will always use them for my trips!
JACOB T.
Denver, Colorado
26 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Essential
Had a great time touring around Japan for three weeks.... could not have done that without the WifiBuddy! Very pleasant and helpful service from the staff, and our little Buddy worked well.
CLARA R.
Edmonton, Alberta
25 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

These worked great however...
The battery life on these are low which is mitigated by the extra charge pack provided. Very considerate. These do heat up pretty quickly as well. Still not enough of a con to give anything less than a 5 star rating. Ease of pick up from Narita airport and the pre-labeled packaging to send back to JWB was very convenient. Let's not forget the price for true unlimited 4G. Even picked signal from places where my phone wouldn't (had an international plan as well for business calls).
TYWIN P.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
25 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

A really valuable addition
Although everyone told us that wifi is widely available in Japan, which is true, we were still pleased to have hired our wifi buddy. Getting around the major cities is challenging and we found immediate access to Google maps to be invaluable. The wifi buddy ensured that this was possible 24/7. We also ran several devices at the same time which meant that the buddy was much cheaper than roaming - even with vodafone's £6 a day limit. The only downside was the battery life. The buddy would routinely 'die' at about 5pm and would not then work while recharging from the battery back. That meant that there was normally a hiatus for 30 mins or so which was boring but we learnt to manage the timing by conserving battery whenever wifi was strong (eg in hotels). We would hire a wifi buddy again if in Japan for any length of time, without question.
ALAN M.
Colden Common, England
25 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great coverage
Japan WiFi buddy provided an excellent service, we collected our device at our first hotel, clear and concise instructions are provided, and it really works! Be sure to charge the back up battery, if you are using for a long time as the main charger lasts approx 8 hours. It’s small and compact. Return envelope provided. Bit pricey but all in all worth it.
LISA W.
Richmond, England
25 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Very satisfied with your service.
Very satisfied with your service.
JOÃO P.
Cascais, Lisbon
25 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

FIrst time user
I must say this has helped me out tremendously while i visited japan,i did have one small gripe about it though,even though it never got hot,it seemed to reboot itself sometimes randomly no matter where i was. Other than that,i highly recommend it since it was very useful is all of Tokyo.
JASON K.
Las Vegas, Nevada
25 October 2019
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great!
The pocket WiFi was a lifesaver in Japan - made our trip so seamless. The service was great and the team was very responsive.
THANH T.
Santa Monica, California
25 October 2019