Japan WifiBuddy Pocket Wifi Reviews

Read what our customers have to say about our service!

Country
WifiBuddy
Sim Cards

Silver WifiBuddy

Fantastic
Really worth it, great service and helpful team :)
DANIEL S.
Seoul, Seoul
05 January 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Fast and Reliable
Very cheap for the price and speed. Used all the way from Hakata to Tokyo and had no problems. Had a 100gb limit and only used 50gb with 2 people for 3 weeks.
TAKASHI S.
Torrance, California
05 January 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Excellent service
Had great reception all throughout Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka. Had unlimited data which was not really unlimited, but I only went over because I forgot and left my computer backing up at one point. I hit about 100GB and got an email from japan wifi buddy saying Softbank contacted them about my usage and that I should reduce it. Softbank did end up throttling my account for 1 day but thats it. Overall very satisfied.
JURAWA H.
El Calafate, Santa Cruz
04 January 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great connection everywhere
The WiFi was great. We stayed at an Airbnb that also had a pocket WiFi (same exact device and carrier). The WifiBuddy worked everywhere, while the Airbnb WiFi could barely get any bars. Also lasted pretty much the entire day so we rarely needed to use the included battery backup.
SELVIN W.
Berkeley, California
29 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Diamond WiFi rental - Totally worth it!
It was a great investment to get for my trip! We were able to surf the web and watch videos at very high quality and there was no instance where the WiFi was not working. Super reliable and would definitely use again!
CHRISTINA C.
Berkeley, California
28 December 2017
Silver WifiBuddy

Satisfied
We used the pocket wifi for 8 days, going to the cities, mountains and rural areas during winter time. We do not have any problem with network connections and the battery last the whole day till night with normal usage. Its one of the cheapest pocket wifi plan we found! We were happy with it.. Helped us a lot! The only downside was that package was quite bulky. There's no need to provide extra powerbank since the device's battery is enough to last through the day.
FATHIAH -.
Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur
28 December 2017
Platinum WifiBuddy

Best decision
My wifibuddy worked almost flawlessly. While it had some trouble indoors, I could usually solve this by switching it to indoor mode. I am so glad that I rented this while I was in Japan.
CHRISTINE N.
Annandale, Virginia
28 December 2017
Silver WifiBuddy

Japan wifi buddy
Japan wifi buddy
SAMANTHA S.
Kellyville, New South Wales
27 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Would highly recommend
We were in Japan for a week and used the WiFi buddy around Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto. Had 100% signal throughout. Would definitely recommend.
WARREN R.
Johannesburg, Gauteng
27 December 2017
Platinum WifiBuddy

Worked just as advertised
What a gorgeous device with very helpful staff! The wifi buddy worked almost all of the time, with no connectivity issues (albeit when we were underground or in a remote area, of course). We also had no trouble with the data limit, as the wifi buddy had a clear indicator on how much we'd used in the past three days. My only complaints would be that the spare battery (powerbank) it came with was quite old, and had connectivity issues, but all you had to do to fix them was wiggle the cord around a bit. The wifi buddy itself also sometimes had false battery displays, dying when the battery indicator was over half full. Overall a great buy for its price.
AN Y.
Auckland, Auckland
26 December 2017
Platinum WifiBuddy

Everything was perfect! Great pocket
Everything was perfect! Great pocket wifi
OSCAR G.
Mexico City, Mexico City
26 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Good servicd
Good servicd
XAVIER A.
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan
25 December 2017
Platinum WifiBuddy

GREAT
Recurring customer. Loved the service last time. Loved it this time.
ARNE T.
Berlin, Land Berlin
21 December 2017
Platinum WifiBuddy

Working as intended
Battery life was good and the extra battery provided came handy once. The reception was sadly quite bad the second you went inside buildings (Kansai area).
SVANTE H.
Stockholm, Stockholm
21 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Fantastic and easy
Fantastic service - easy to order, lots of data and no dramas over 3 weeks. Would recommend to anyone.
ALISON T.
Melbourne, Victoria
15 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

True Unlimited and ease of use
I rented the diamond service for a month in Japan and had no issues at all. There was service everywhere I went from Tokyo, Tohoku and Hokkaido. I would recommend this for serious photographers wanting to backup photos without having to carry a laptop around with them.
STEVEN C.
Banora Point, New South Wales
15 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Effortless
Don’t bother getting an international cell phone plan! The WiFiBuddy had us connected to text messages, FaceTime audio and work email for our entire trip. Thee router was at the hotel when we checked in and the hotel concierge happily mailed it back at the end of our trip. No stress whatsoever!
JEROME F.
14 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Diamond WiFi on Shikoku
We used the Diamond WiFi Buddy during our just-completed walk along the 88 Temple Henro trail. That took us into some pretty remote areas on this rural island. Although the unit (expectedly) lost signal in some mountain areas, overall it performed very well. And the fact that we had unlimited data was remarkable. Quite often, we would not bother switching over to the wifi provided by our lodging for the night since the Diamond was so reliable and fast. Every night, I would post to my blog (30-40 photos) from my iPad, my wife would check the news and do emails from her iPad, we would stream radio broadcasts to my iPhone and occasionally stream from Netflix or download shows from iTunes. All simultaneously. I didn’t notice any data throttling by the carrier.
David F.
Portage la Prairie, Manitoba
13 December 2017
Platinum WifiBuddy

First time in japan
For my first time in japan this company made their service amazingly simple. Seriously you pick it up at the airport turn it on and you and your friends have wifi the whole time your there never ran into a problem and dropping it off at the airport when you done is just as easy. A little too easy was scared I missed something.
TIMOTHY A.
East Meadow, New York
12 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Fast, worked perfect
Easy process, good price, very fast, and zero issues.
KELSEY W.
Nashville, Tennessee
12 December 2017
Silver WifiBuddy

Prompt response great service
The team at Wifi buddy responded quite promptly with clear instructions and advice. I picked up from Haneda airport and it was a very simple process. Thank you to the team at wifi buddy and would highly recommend.
ANDY Y.
Leichhardt, New South Wales
11 December 2017
Silver WifiBuddy

Cool
I've never used a pocket wifi before but it realllllllly came in handy when I was in Japan. There were certain stores I was on the hunt for in not so obvious locations, while being separated from my party as well (different interests). Also I knew I would need to contact some people over there so having wifi available at will was very nice. I didn't have any issues with connections and the battery lasts pretty long if you charge it nightly so I never really had to use an external charger on the go (of course bring it with you anyway though). The only struggle I had was finding the post office to pick it up because it was smaller than I expected so I totally walked past without seeing it. But I was able to ask around at the airport.
NATALIA N.
Redondo Beach, California
10 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great service at a great price
Super easy to reserve, pick-up at Narita Post Office (2 minutes), turn on and go. Easily connected 2 phones, iPad, and laptop, with seamless connectivity from Tokyo to Fukuoka. Router made it through every day without additional charging, Easy drop-off and done.Would definitely use again.
PHILIP P.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
08 December 2017
Silver WifiBuddy

Took me a while to
Took me a while to understand that I had to reset it after charging.Instruction re the backup battery were not clear. Bit more explanation would be helpful. Otherwise system works well. Thankyou
VIVIENNE J.
Redfern, New South Wales
08 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Awesome Service!
So happy that we used Japan WiFi Buddy for our recent trip to Japan. It was incredibly useful and worked flawlessly. Excellent connection speeds and not having to worry about limited bandwidth was very nice. I would definitely use this service again next time I am in Japan.
CHRISTOPHER T.
Vancouver, British Columbia
07 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Easy, straightforward process.
There were so many wifi companies to choose from when I did my original research. Based on reviews on various websites, I felt Japan WifiBuddy would suit me best. I was not disappointed. Package was waiting for me in the airport - everything worked immediately and I always had a very strong internet connection throughout my trip. It made traveling around the country very easy. The external battery charger that came with it was a life saver.
JUSTIN L.
Pleasanton, California
06 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Fantastic!
Great service, seamless experience!
LORENZO M.
Knottingley, England
06 December 2017
Platinum WifiBuddy

Japan WifiBuddy
This was our second time renting WifiBuddy. Overall experience was good, but Wifi this time did not have an indicator how much battery was left so we were constantly charging to make sure it did not run out. Also, the connection between the Wifi and its charging cord was too loose so at times, it was not charging although charging cord was plugged in.
RIEKO S.
Montebello, California
06 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great!
Very fast and lasts all day! Pickup and drop off was very easy at the Narita Airport. For reference, in the span of 2 weeks with normal net surfing and navigation, two people used 12 gigs total. No video/music streaming was done.
DARRENLOKHUNG T.
San Jose, California
06 December 2017
Diamond WifiBuddy

BEST THING EVER!
BEST THING EVER!
JULIA L.
Atlanta, Georgia
05 December 2017