Japan WifiBuddy Pocket Wifi Reviews

Read what our customers have to say about our service!

Country
WifiBuddy
Sim Cards

Diamond WifiBuddy

Great product, super fast
Really good speed and coverage everywhere
PEDRO Y.
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
26 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Terrific service & connectivity
No problems with WiFi Buddy - their service or the device. Had full connectivity for two devices all over Japan for two weeks with no issues whatsoever. Highly recommended.
PATRICK P.
Dublin, Leinster
25 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great customer service, even better product!
I used the Diamond WifiBuddy for 12 days in Japan and was very satisfied quth the service. The device always delivered LTE speed service all over Japan, and the team was always ready to help with any questions that came up. Pick up at a post office also worked very smoothly. I will be using it again when I come back to Japan!
Francisco V.
Rio Grande
24 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Was a perfect addition to our trip!
We loved the WifiBuddy! It kept us online our entire trip, even in the subways! We travelled in Hiroshima, Osaka, Kyoto, and Tokyo, and had perfect reception everywhere! The battery life was pretty good, but the additional battery that was provided was a great way to keep it lasting the full day!
Christopher H.
Edmonton, Alberta
24 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Excellent service!
Really really happy with our wifi buddy! It was so nice to always have internet on our trip. And Wifi buddy was much cheaper than their competitors. Really good vaue!
JEVGENIJA C.
Oslo, Oslo County
24 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

A great companion for the trip
I traveled with two other friends and we found the WifiBuddy to be incredibly convenient. The WifiBuddy allowed my friends and I to look up directions anywhere we were, including inside the subway since there are repeaters installed there. The WifiBuddy also worked on the Shinkansen (bullet train) which was a nice surprise and it allowed us to goof around on our phones while commuting to different cities. I would definitely use this again when I go back to Japan!
Patrick N.
Toronto, Ontario
23 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

An Essential Tool for Traveling Japan
This Wifi buddy was great. It held its connection essentially constantly even when going through tunnels in shinkansen or when far underground in the subway. It was always fast enough to stream HD and backup photos. Also, even with two users simultaneously using it never got too slow to do anything with. I was very pleased with its performance!!
BRIAN B.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
22 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

nothing to say just ...
I have nothing to say just “you should try” . it’s the best .
NUTTAKIT S.
Phoenix, Arizona
22 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Just What I Needed
I rented the Diamond mobile wi-fi and it was great to have. The device lasted pretty much all day fully charged and the extra battery was especially handing to have. I don't know if I reached my daily limit or even came close but I never encountered any slow downs on speeds. At times it was better than the hotel wi-fi.
ANTOINE L.
Austin, Texas
22 May 2018
Platinum WifiBuddy

An absolute essential for our trip!
I would say a portable wifi of your own is absolutely essential when visiting Japan! We were unsure whether or not to actually get one, as most of our accommodations provided wifi - but I'm so glad we did! It was waiting for us at our hotel, so one less thing we had to worry about at the airport upon arrival to Japan.The portable wifi's provided with our accommodations rarely worked, and certainly not as well as the Wifi Buddy did. It was so helpful to be able to be connected to the internet on the go and it saved us more than once being able to search Google Maps, Hyperdia etc. The only small complaint would be that it does burn through the battery pretty fast, even when not in use, however as a backup charge/power bank is included, this was rarely an issue. Many thanks to Japan WifiBuddy for making our trip that much easier!
ALISA W.
Redwood Park, South Australia
22 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

World connection in Japan through wifi buddy
During our recent trip to Japan, we were connected to our the net world because of wifi buddy. The connection is very reliable and fast. We were able to find our way, through alleys of Tokyo, and train stations in Osaka all because of Japan wifi buddy. Moreover, the person assisting us is very helpful and friendly. She made it easier for us to collect our wifi buddy sets from the post. Highly recommended. ☺️
KOSTA L.
New Lambton, New South Wales
22 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Amazing service.
For the 13 days I stayed in Tokyo, no issues with the unlimited data. I did upload a ton, so I was throttled for download speed but it didn't effect me too much. Price was really worth it.
ADAM S.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
22 May 2018
Platinum WifiBuddy

Great product!
The device did as intended and was only spotty in big buildings in Tokyo and in the mountains of Hakone. Very easy to connect and made life easy for our trip. Will definitely rent again!
Kent M.
Fullerton, California
22 May 2018
Platinum WifiBuddy

Good pocket wifi
Loved the accessories that it came with such as the pouch and the portable charger which ended up coming in handy. Wish the battery lasted longer but that's the nature of traveling with portable wifi and using google maps non-stop.
NICKKI N.
Boise, Idaho
22 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Thank you so much for
Thank you so much for your amazing service and for helping us have a wonderful time in Japan! The Japan WifiBuddy was indispensable for our travels and helped us seamlessly navigate walking cities, using public transportation, and finding things to do!
NATALIE D.
Stanford, California
22 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

exceeded my expectation
Japan Wifi Buddy is a phenomenal device, it helped me to stay connected all over Japan without any issues.
RAMACHANDRAN K.
Vancouver, British Columbia
20 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Fantastic experience!
Many thanks to the JapanWifiBuddy team for their "above & beyond" service, when I needed to make a last minute trip to Tokyo. Having never rented a Pocket Wifi unit before, I especially appreciated their quick and detailed responses to my questions. The Diamond WifiBuddy I received had a strong signal, held a charge well and was easy to use with multiple devices. To return, it was convenient to drop it off at the Japan Post kiosk in Narita Terminal 1, using the provided pre-paid envelope. I will definitely use JapanWiFiBuddy again on my next trip.
CHERYL G.
Cathlamet, Washington
20 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Better to have it and not need it than need it and not have it
This device was an essential for our vacation to Tokyo. I was unsure of the data amount that we would need so I opted for the Diamond package. We ending up only using ~3-4GB of our 100GB limit. Never experienced any slowdowns but we stayed in urbanized areas and didn't consume large amounts of data in short periods so didn't come close to testing the limits. We restricted our use to simple services throughout the day, like Google Maps and quick web browsing, and uploaded about 100 pictures + 10 videos (2min/ea @ 720p) at the end of each day. It also worked seamlessly with my OpenVPN server which uses a unique/non-standard UDP port. Needless to say: this device was worth every penny as it provided us the uplink to use basic tools while exploring new places. Just be sure to invest in a good battery bank. We used ours to connect two smart phones almost nonstop for 10-14hrs/day and would require a recharge about every 6hrs because of the heavy use of the radio signal. Keeping the included cable on hand also let us quickly recharge when visiting coffee shops or other locations with either power or USB available. I would definitely rent from Japan WifiBuddy again and recommend to others. Charges were clear, communication was prompt, and delivery/return was seamless. Professional service all the way.
COURTNEY D.
Orlando, Florida
19 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Best way to stay connected
I rented the Diamond Wifi Buddy for 2 weeks back in April and I have to say this was the best decision I have made. The connection was very good and I even used it in my hotel as the connection was better. I recommend it!
BRIGITTE P.
Gatineau, Quebec
18 May 2018
Silver WifiBuddy

Silver WifiBuddy Review
Worked like a charm and lasted the whole day. I don't know what I would've done wtihout this. Super convenient and light!
HAROON S.
Chicago, Illinois
18 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great service. Battery can improve
The service works great. We had connection everywhere we where at Japan, the connection speed is great as well. We were able to stream in Twitch and sync files at the same time, and everything worked fine. Having the device delivered to our Airbnb was good as well and returning it at the airport is super convenient. The only downside was that the battery of the device didn't last as much as we wanted to. We have used other devices half the size of this one, and their battery lasted much more. But Japan WifiBuddy also provides an extra power bank, which was convenient. It was just something extra to take care of. Apart from that, everything was very good.
ARTURO B.
Monterrey, Nuevo León
16 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Nice service
Nice service
SANTIAGO P.
Laval, Quebec
15 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great!
Works very fast, battery life was adequate. Internet wasnt lagging, only thing I didnt like was the device slightly heats up so must keep an eye on.
KIRBY D.
Saint-Laurent, Quebec
15 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Met our needs
Reception throughout our travel in Japan was good. Only issue was the pocket wifi cannot last for a day, had to recharge using the spare battery that came with the kit.
CHRISTOPHER Y.
15 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Loved It
Loved It
REBECCA S.
Monbulk, Victoria
15 May 2018
Platinum WifiBuddy

Worked great
The device worked well with two phones and we did not experience any problems. It was so helpful in Japan for maps and translate. Never had to use th extra battery
LISA B.
Denver, Colorado
14 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Very convenient
Not worrying about data limits was very convenient. Reception was great everywhere we went and speeds were fast. Really made navigating and looking for restaurants much easier!
YANG-HENG L.
Vancouver, British Columbia
13 May 2018
Platinum WifiBuddy

Excellent customer service, a bit spotty cellular service
What otherwise would have been a 5 star experience was hindered by spotty service in city areas (like JR Nagoya Station or underground in subway stations), and non-existent service anywhere outside the city propers. I was well aware the restrictions on service with Platinum WifiBuddy, but still managed to be disappointed by the narrow range. My recommendation would be to consider the Diamond unless you're staying in areas serviced by a subway line. However, I would be open to trying a Diamond WifiBuddy
LEO M.
Barrigada Village
13 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great service!
Great service!
JAE-WON M.
Calgary, Alberta
12 May 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great price. Great service. Easy pick-up and delivery.
What more is there to say other than JapanWifiBuddy provided exactly what we needed while traveling around Tokyo and Kyoto? Our service was consistent and, aside from a couple random reboots (which is expected), was flawless. Pick-up from Narita Terminal 2 was easy and stress free, as was drop off at the end into a postbox at Haneda. I think the value is extremely good considering you get truly unlimited data AND the external battery back-up included, which I think is necessary when using it all day while traveling. I will say that the unit does get warm inside its protective sleeve, so if traveling in the summer when it's warm, is something to keep in mind, but the guide provided by JapanWifiBuddy mentions this specifically. All in all great service.
MATTHEW W.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
12 May 2018