Japan WifiBuddy Pocket Wifi Reviews

Read what our customers have to say about our service!

Country
WifiBuddy
Sim Cards

Diamond WifiBuddy

An Essential Travel Item
Great value for money, made exploring Japan so much easier by having a consistent internet connection for maps and travel info. Was cheaper than international roaming! Battery lasted most of the day with the supplied power bank getting it through till late in the night. Would highly recommend.
LYNDON W.
Brisbane, Queensland
11 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Definitely Recommend
This service was really great and made navigating/communicating through Tokyo very easy. It was really easy to pick up the device at the Narita Airport, and they provided a return envelope, which was great. I just returned it back to the Narita Airport post office. We were there for 8 days and got the unlimited plan, but with 6 devices connected, we still barely broke the 10G mark. So if you plan on connecting less devices, it would probably be beneficial to just get a smaller rate plan. The only thing that was a bit inconvenient was that the wifi router itself was not charged when I received it, but the extra battery pack that was included allowed me to charge it while on the Narita express. Overall, very happy with the service and will definitely use again when traveling Japan.
CARMELA P.
11 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Best solution ever
I wouldn't have enjoyed Japan half as much without the help of the WifiBuddy... Excellent device that allows you to have internet everywhere in Japan for a great price
ANDONI U.
Islington, England
11 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

It's easy
The process is easy. I reserved it online, picked it up from the airport post office. Return it back to the airport post office before leaving Japan. The speed was good for mutiple users.
PIK C.
Sacramento, California
11 April 2018
Silver WifiBuddy

Convenient and safe. Excellent customer service!
This was our second time renting through Japan wifiBuddy. Thank you for making the trip so smooth and your promotion customer service! Highly recommend to anyone who wants an efficient and well-run service that will make your trip super easy.
SAMANTHA L.
Sacramento, California
11 April 2018
Silver WifiBuddy

Loved it!
Great little buddy to have, very convenient.
IRIS R.
11 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

So convenient
Fantastic service! My travel mates streamed a lot at night and we were still good on data! Definitely will be recommending you guys and using you myself next trip!
TRUNG C.
Victoria
11 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Excellent Speed and Coverage
Having this hotspot handy along with buying a Suica card were essential to successfully have a great vacation and navigating Tokyo, Hakone and Kyoto!
JOHN L.
Hagerstown, Maryland
11 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Japan WiFi Buddy
This little portable device is amazing. This is exactly what I needed to travel through Japan. Being connected I was able to access google maps, go on social media, text all my iPhone buddies and best of all FaceTime my parents so they can enjoy the beautiful sceneries of Japan as well. Easy to reserve, pick up, use and return. Only complaint I have is that it does get a little hot but it wasn’t a hassle or anything. I would definitely rent from Japan WiFi Buddy again.
TIEN T.
San Diego, California
11 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Awesome overall service.
Rented the diamond wifibuddy for 10 days and it was the best decision I ever made. Never lost internet speed, but the pocket wifi does run hot when lots of users (we had 7) connected which kills the battery faster. Luckily they provide an external and we also carried our own personal externals. Customer service would respond to all my email inquiries ASAP. Great service! Would recommend to anyone looking for a pocket wifi in Japan!
HENRY V.
Yucaipa, California
11 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Excellent customer service as they
Excellent customer service as they were able to send it out to my hotel close to the cut off period. Great accessibility
Jane E.
Bonner, Australian Capital Territory
08 April 2018
Platinum WifiBuddy

Pocket wifi over 2 week period
I had no issues with the pocket wifi, and even with extensive wifi usage, I never hit my limits or had any major lag issues. Videos loaded fine, and a quick speed query yielded about 15 mb/s download while in Japan
BENJAMIN C.
San Jose, California
08 April 2018
Silver WifiBuddy

Get the platinum or better.
I recommend getting the platinum or diamond version. I didn’t think I would use all that much l data on the trip but breaking the 175mb limit per day was very easy. The 3g was very slow so once you hit the limit, you’re out of luck.
BRIAN C.
San Diego, California
07 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Rapid-fast service
This was my third trip to Japan, my third time using pocket WiFi, but my first using Japan WifiBuddy. I'll definitely be using them in the future, as the WiFi was actually charged and ready to go (which can't be said for the other companies I've used). Any questions I had were answered under 10 minutes, which is pretty crazy. Highly recommend this service and will be happy to share them with friends visiting Japan.
JACLYN G.
Chicago, Illinois
06 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Awesome and Easy!
I’m so glad I got a Pocket Wifi in Japan from Japan Wifi Buddy. It definitely made the trip painless and the wifi had so much power I would use it over the hotel/hostel wifi! Surprisingly the battery would last all day and it never died on me at a bad time. I got delayed by a day and they were real nice and communicative to my situation. Super easy to pick up from the airport and send back at the end of the trip. I’m glad you guys are active on Reddit because that’s how I found you! Keep up the good work. If I’m in Japan again I’ll definitely use you guys!
BENJAMIN M.
05 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Diamond
My husband and I used this for our 12-day vacation in Japan. We relied on the Internet A LOT but didn’t even go through half of the data available. Please note: You’ll need to carry the provided battery charger with you at all times, as it dies midday even if it’s been charged all night.
IVY M.
Tucson, Arizona
05 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Perfect product!
Would highly recommend this service. Everything was exactly as advertised, and really smooth to pick up and then send back at the end. Wifi worked everywhere, and we went to some pretty remote provinces. Was super fast.
ALICE T.
Waikanae, Wellington
05 April 2018
Silver WifiBuddy

Great Pocket Wifi
Japan Wifi Buddy was awesome! This was my first time using a pocket wifi. The process from ordering to returning is very easy & straightforward. The staff is friendly & helpful. I’ll definitely use their services again.
VANESSA R.
Kailua, Hawaii
05 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great company
We picked up the gadget at Narita airport and it functioned without any problems during our 9 days stay in Japan. Our family of 4 were connected to the WiFi when outside the hotel through it and it was imprescindible for our moving around. Good coverage and no problems whatsoever. We dropped it off at the post box in Haneda Airport. It was as convenient as that. Moreover the attention to the clients was impeccable from the minute we made the booking. All in all I highly recommend using Japan WiFi buddy.
JORDI P.
Barcelona, Catalonia
05 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Just great!
It was a life saver to have this as soon as I got to the airport. It even worked half way up a mountain at my last AirBnB. Will get again on my next holiday!
JONATHAN A.
Ipswich, England
05 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Fantastic device
Wife and I used two phones through the 10 day duration of our trip. We had no connectivity issues and the device often worked in the transit system despite being several floors underground. It is worth noting we spent our time in Tokyo, Osaka, and Kyoto. We didn’t notice any major drops on the Shinkansen from Tokyo to the Kyoto/Osaka area but we also didn’t spend time exploring rural areas. Pickup and drop off were easy and having the backup battery came in handy for two of our longer days.
TIMOTHY L.
Jersey City, New Jersey
05 April 2018
Platinum WifiBuddy

Works great!
This was my second time renting the Platinum - it worked just as great as the first! We only had one connection problem, and that was easily fixed by a quick reboot. There were two people using it this time, and there was enough data for both of us to be using Google Maps, Yelp, keep family/friends updated by posting a few photos each night, etc. By the end of our 1-week trip, we had only used 8 or 9 gbs, so the 10gb/3days is plenty for most people!
AYLA B.
04 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great experience!
I was scrambling around last minute trying to find portable WiFi before my trip when I found Japan WiFi Buddy. Super affordable for the week I was spending during my trip! I got the diamond package, which gave me so much space (even with my friends hooked up to the hotspot!) It was super easy to use and did not take up any room in my bag, and I even carried it in my jacket pocket sometimes while exploring my hostel's neighborhood. I'd definitely use this again during my next trip to Japan!
JADE I.
Compton, California
03 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great Service!!!
We reserved the Diamond package for 12 days, and all I can say is that it was perfect for us: we had service everywhere (Osaka, Kyoto & Tokyo, and in between these cities during the trip on the Shinkansen) with no interruptions at all. We even used it at the hotel's rooms, since the connections and the speeds were better than the ones offered by the hotels. Just keep it fully charged (we charged it every night), and take the battery pack with you (including the necessary cable); if you are a heavy user as we were, you might need it late in the afternoon. I would not hesitate to recommend it to everyone!!!... 5 STARS!!!
ARIEL N.
Torrance, California
03 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Loved it!
Loved it!
MOLLY P.
Tokyo, Tokyo
03 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Quite Happy
We were quite happy with our Japan WifiBuddy rental. Coverage was excellent, even in some remote areas where we stayed. The only downfall was the unit we received had a minor charging issue where it made it difficult to fully charge the device. Luckily the backup battery booster pack was able to save the day when needed.
KEVIN S.
Toronto, Ontario
03 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

The whole process from start
The whole process from start to finish! The pocket WiFi worked perfectly and was so useful!
Andrea B.
03 April 2018
Platinum WifiBuddy

A good experisnce
I found the device always performed up to expectations.
PAUL L.
Sapporo, Hokkaido
02 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Very handy to have!
Very handy to have!
SPENCER B.
San Francisco, California
02 April 2018
Diamond WifiBuddy

Great service.
Pick up was easy. We went to Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto, no issues with coverage. Also great customer service and we would definitely rent it again on my next trip to Japan.
ANG X.
Singapore, Central Singapore Community Development Council
01 April 2018